Ein ägyptischer Horusfalke aus Bronze auf einem Sarkophag, 26. Dynastie, ca. 646-525 v. Chr
Ein ägyptischer Horusfalke aus Bronze auf einem Sarkophag, 26. Dynastie, ca. 646-525 v. Chr
Ein ägyptischer Horusfalke aus Bronze auf einem Sarkophag, 26. Dynastie, ca. 646-525 v. Chr
Ein ägyptischer Horusfalke aus Bronze auf einem Sarkophag, 26. Dynastie, ca. 646-525 v. Chr
Ein ägyptischer Horusfalke aus Bronze auf einem Sarkophag, 26. Dynastie, ca. 646-525 v. Chr

Ein ägyptischer Horusfalke aus Bronze auf einem Sarkophag, 26. Dynastie, ca. 646-525 v. Chr

EB1411

Normaler Preis€8.344,95
/
  • This object qualifies for free and fast worldwide shipping.

Dieser gut gegossene und detailreiche Falke stellt den Gott Horus als Falken dar und trägt die Doppelkrone von Ober- und Unterägypten, an deren Spitze der königliche Uräus steht. Der Kopf hat ovale Lidaugen und einen Hakenschnabel. Dicke, schwere Grate an den Beinen und raue Haut an den Krallen stehen im Kontrast zur Zartheit der eingravierten Federn auf den geschlossenen Flügeln und vereinen die Kraft und Majestät des Falken. Der Falke ist zentral auf einem rechteckigen Sarkophag positioniert, dessen schmaler Kasten sich zu einem Hohlgesims verjüngt und ursprünglich entweder repräsentative Knochen oder den Körper eines kleinen Falken beherbergte.

Hintergrund : Der Höhenflug und der räuberische Charakter des Falken verbanden den mächtigen Raubvogel schon früh in der pharaonischen Tradition mit dem Gott des lebenden Königs, Horus. Der lebende König von Ägypten wurde als irdischer Horus identifiziert, und ab der späten prädynastischen Zeit (ca. 3100 v. Chr.) trug der König einen besonderen königlichen „Horusnamen“. Der Falke, als das heilige Tier des Horus, symbolisierte das göttliche Königtum, da der König die irdische Darstellung von Horus war. Das gemeinsame Erscheinen der Doppelkrone und des Uräus auf bronzenen Falkenfiguren verstärkt diese königliche Verbindung. Der Falke wurde auch mit dem Himmel in Verbindung gebracht, da seine Augen die Sonne und den Mond darstellten und seine großen Flügel ausgebreitet waren, um die Erde darunter zu schützen. Später wurde der Falke mit dem Sonnengott Re in Verbindung gebracht, der eine Sonnenscheibe auf dem Kopf trug (bekannt als Re-Harakhty). Auch andere Götter hatten Falken als heilige Tiere, wie zum Beispiel Montu, der Kriegsgott, der sich durch einen Kopfschmuck mit zwei Federn auszeichnet.

Wie so viele Tiere, die mit dem göttlichen Reich in Verbindung gebracht werden, wurde der Falke in späteren Zeiten zum Mittelpunkt von Mumifizierungen, Bestattungen und Votivgaben. Die zahlreichen bronzenen Falkenstatuetten zeichnen sich durch ihre aufrechte und dennoch ruhende Haltung mit seitlich gefalteten Flügeln aus. Ihre Größe reicht von kleinen Ornamenten bis hin zu großen, freistehenden Figuren, wobei viele der größeren Exemplare hohl gegossen sind und über ein Innenfach verfügen, in dem ein echter Vogel abgelegt werden könnte. Hunderttausende mumifizierter Falken wurden in weitläufigen Katakomben an heiligen Stätten in ganz Ägypten begraben. Die Tempel aus der griechisch-römischen Zeit in Philae und Edfu stellen die letzte Blüte des Kultes dar.

Literaturverzeichnis:

Hanfmann, G und Rowland, B. Jr., „Ancient Art at the Fogg Museum“, Archaeology , Bd. 7, Nr. 3, 130-37.

Hart, George Ein Wörterbuch der ägyptischen Götter und Göttinnen. (1986) Routledge & Kegan Paul, London, Vereinigtes Königreich, S. 94.

Redford, Donald B. Die alten Götter sprechen. (2002) Oxford University Press, New York, NY. S.166.

Parallelen: D. Pacha, Collection d'Antiquités Égyptiennes de Tigrane Pacha d'Abro , Paris, 1911, Nr. 28, Taf. XVII.
Museum of Archaeology at Staten Island, Divine Images and Other Fabulous Creatures , Staten Island, 1978, Nr. 10.
R. Merhav et al., A Glimpse Into the Past: The Joseph Ternbach Collection , Jerusalem, 1981, Nr. 121.

Zustand: Mit einer satten dunkelbraunen Patina mit Grün, Schwarz und Rot, der Sarkophag hat die Dichtungsplatte an der Rückseite verloren und es gibt auch einen kleinen Verlust an der rechten Wand und am Sockel, ansonsten intakt und in sehr gutem Zustand gesamt. Auf einem schwarzen, maßgefertigten Sockel in Museumsqualität montiert (nicht auf den Fotos abgebildet).

Abmessungen: Höhe: 12,7 cm (5 Zoll), Länge: 13,33 cm (5,25 Zoll)

Provenienz: Privatsammlung von Elsa und Dr. Pierre H. Bloch-Diener, Bern, Schweiz, erworben zwischen 1965 und 1983, Privatsammlung von Dr. R. Bigler, erworben 1987, Privatsammlung von Jeffrey Simpson, Acton MA, erworben nach 1994 aus dem New Yorker Handel.

Sands of Time provides a lifetime, unconditional guarantee of authenticity and provenance. Every object you purchase from us is accompanied by a Certificate of Authenticity, stating culture, provenance, and age.

Furthermore, we conduct due diligence to ensure the item, to the best of our knowledge, has not been illegally obtained from an excavation, architectural monument, public institution, or private property. Wherever possible, reference is made to existing collections or publications.Wherever possible, reference is made to existing collections or publications.

We ship Tuesday to Friday with FedEx and usually same day if your order is received before 2pm. Within the continental USA, packing, shipping and insurance is free. Depending on size and destination, delivery times range from one to five business days.

If we are shipping this object to you overseas, there is no charge for packing, preparation of all customs paperwork, insurance and carrier fees in compliance with all USA and International customs requirements.

We send overseas shipments with FedEx International Priority which usually means two to three day delivery to Europe and the UK, customs willing but contact us if you have a shipping preference. 

Please note: International customers are responsible for all duties and taxes. 

Diese Website ist durch reCAPTCHA geschützt und es gelten die allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen und Datenschutzbestimmungen von Google.

NO BUYERS PREMIUM - FREE SHIPPING IN USA ~ INTERNATIONAL SHIPPING ONLY $50!
0

Your Cart is Empty

An Egyptian Bronze Horus Falcon Sarcophagus, 26th Dynasty, ca. 646-525 BC - Sands of Time Ancient Art
Move your mouse over image or click to enlarge

EB1411

An Egyptian Bronze Horus Falcon on a Sarcophagus, 26th Dynasty, ca. 646-525 BC

Depicting the god Horus as a falcon, this well cast, and richly detailed falcon wears the Double Crown of Upper and Lower Egypt, fronted by the royal uraeus.  The head has lidded oval eyes and a hooked beak.  Thick, heavy ridges of the legs and rough skin of the talons contrast with the delicacy of the engraved feathering on the closed wings, uniting the power and majesty of the falcon.  The falcon is centrally positioned on a rectangular sarcophagus, the narrow box tapering to a cavetto cornice, that originally housed either representative bones or the body of a small falcon. 

Background:  The soaring flight and predatory character of the falcon linked the mighty raptor to the god of the living king, Horus, early in the pharaonic tradition. The living king of Egypt was identified as an earthly Horus, and from the late Predynastic Period (c. 3100 BCE), the king bore a special royal “Horus name.” The falcon, as the sacred animal of Horus, came to symbolize divine kingship, as the king was the earthly representation of Horus. The common appearance of the Double Crown and uraeus on bronze figurines of falcons reinforces this royal connection. The falcon was also associated with the sky, with its eyes representing the sun and the moon and its large wings outspread to protect the earth below. Later, the falcon became associated with the sun god Re, bearing a sun disc on its head (known as Re-Harakhty). Other gods also had falcons as their sacred animals, such as Montu the god of war, who is distinguished by a double-plume headdress.

As with so many animals associated with the divine realm, during the later periods the falcon became the focus of mummification, burial, and votive offerings. The numerous bronze falcon statuettes are characterized by their upright, yet resting, stance with wings folded at the side. They range in size from small ornaments to large, freestanding figures with many of the larger examples hollow-cast with an inner compartment in which an actual bird could be deposited. Hundreds of thousands of mummified falcons were buried in extensive catacombs at sacred sites throughout Egypt. The Greco-Roman period temples at Philae and Edfu represent the final flourishing of the cult.

Bibliography:

Hanfmann, G and Rowland, B. Jr., "Ancient Art at the Fogg Museum", Archaeology , Vol. 7, No. 3, 130-37.

Hart, George  A Dictionary of Egyptian Gods and Goddesses. (1986) Routledge & Kegan Paul, London, United Kingdom, p. 94.

Redford, Donald B.   The Ancient Gods Speak.  (2002) Oxford University Press, New York, NY. p.166.

Parallels: D. Pacha, Collection d'Antiquités Égyptiennes de Tigrane Pacha d'Abro, Paris, 1911, no. 28, pl. XVII.
Museum of Archaeology at Staten Island, Divine Images and Other Fabulous Creatures, Staten Island, 1978, no. 10.
R. Merhav, et al., A Glimpse Into the Past: The Joseph Ternbach Collection, Jerusalem, 1981, no. 121.

Condition:   With a patina of rich dark brown with green, black, and red, the sarcophagus has lost the sealing plate at the back and there is also a small amount of loss to the right wall and base, otherwise intact and in very good condition overall.  Mounted on a black museum-quality custom base (not shown in photos).

Dimensions:  Height: 12.7 cm (5 inches), Length: 13.33 cm (5.25 inches)

Provenance:   Private collection of Elsa and Dr. Pierre H. Bloch-Diener, Bern Switzerland, acquired between 1965 and 1983, private collection of Dr. R. Bigler acquired in 1987, the private collection of Jeffrey Simpson, Acton MA, acquired after 1994 from the NY trade.

News & Updates

Sign up to get the latest on sales, new releases and more …